Home > Class, Teaching, The Historical Profession > Thinking about online teaching

Thinking about online teaching

First, sorry to everyone for not posting lately, but I had a crazy last couple of days, as my laptop crapped out on me with a malicious software attack and had to be restored. On Tuesday, we discussed online teaching with Josh Reidy from Online and Distance Education. It was an interesting discussion, as online teaching is quickly becoming the method of choice for instruction in higher education among students. While more students are taking online courses, many faculty in traditional departments are reluctant. I can not really blame them, as it does represent a possible threat to job security. However, computers have increasingly become a larger force in our everyday lives and education must adapt to this.

I do think that, at least for History, online education is a viable option for delivery of some course content. Upper-division courses would be good for online instruction, as if survey courses and mid-range classes are offered via traditional classroom, where students meet face-to-face with faculty, the more independent nature of upper-division classes could be handled via students doing the readings on their own and contributing to online discussions both textual based, as well as based on audio or video, if technology allows. For graduate programs, many classes could be done online, exclusive of specific methods courses and thesis preparations, which would require some face time with faculty. I will have more to think about this, as I continue with the paper for the class on online and distance education. It will be interesting to see how online education will shape the historical profession and my future career.

By the way, please check out the interesting post by Joan Hawthorne at Teaching Thursday. If you are not checking out this blog, you really should.

  1. December 7, 2009 at 10:55 am

    I view the online environment as a means to engage more people who want to go to college. I view the online environment as a means to give business an opportunity to train employees, without taking actual time out of the business day.

    I teach in the online environment. I am in my second year of this part of my teaching profession. I enjoy the freedom and flexibility on this side of the screen. This opportunity fits my entrepreneurial mindset. I can help others while reaching for my own personal and family goals.

    I look for different colleges and universities to perform for in this venue. What websites have you seen that give legitimate sources for employment? I look forward to hearing from you. http://www.linkedin.com/in/professoralston2014
    or LewisEAlston@yahoo.com.

  2. January 2, 2010 at 11:42 am

    King’s College London already run a succesful MA online, War in the Modern World, and have recently launched a related MA on Air Power in the Modern World. It seems a viable option given the state of technology these days. Indeed KCL courses have been done by serving officer that have been able to continue their studies, albeit at a slower pace, while on operations.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

